The Tax Collector is responsible for the billing and collection of all funds raised by taxation or assessed to property owners for county, school, and municipal purposes.
Third Quarter Property Tax Update
Third Quarter 2023 tax amounts have been mailed out. Payment is due on or before September 18th to avoid interest.
2022 Tax Rate
The 2022 Tax Rate is $2.408 per $100 assessed valuation.
The yearly tax due dates for each quarter as per the State of New Jersey are as follows:
- First Quarter: February 1
- Second Quarter: May 1
- Third Quarter: August 1
- Fourth Quarter: November 1
There is a 10-day grace period from each of the above dates. Payment must be received by the last day of the grace period to avoid interest charges - postmark is not acceptable; if the 10th falls on a Saturday, Sunday or Holiday, the last day of the grace period is extended to the next business day. Please note that on the day following the last day of the grace period, interest will be charged.
Tax installments not paid by the due date are subject to 8% interest on the first $1,500 of the delinquency and 18% on any amount in excess of $1,500. Also, any delinquency exceeding $10,000 at the end of the collection year will be assessed a 6% penalty. Delinquent taxes unpaid for the prior year(s) are included in a tax sale in accordance with New Jersey statutes.
For convenience and safety, payments can be placed in the drop box located at the rear of the Borough Hall beside the rear doors. Please include a self addressed stamped envelope or note if you would like a receipt for your payment.
Property Tax Reimbursement
The Property Tax Reimbursement (PDF) (Senior Freeze) Filing Deadline is October 31, 2022, online information is available for the application and instructions. Please do not drop off the PTR-1A or 2A (verification of taxes). The Tax Collector has these forms in the office. Please call and the form will be mailed to you or it can be picked up.
Residents have 24/7 access to property tax information online, and can also pay taxes electronically. There is a convenience fee of 2.95% when paying online with a credit or debit card. If paying with an electronic check the convenience fee is currently a flat $1.50 per transaction.
Visit Westwood's Tax Payment Information Page.
Visit the State of New Jersey Property Tax Relief Page.